logo graperoverPlease see HERE  the wineries of East Macedonia & Thrace.

East Macedonia and Thrace (Greek: Ανατολική Μακεδονία και Θράκη, formally Περιφέρεια Ανατολικής Μακεδονίας και Θράκης) is one of the thirteen administrative regions of Greece. It consists of the northeastern parts of the country, comprising the eastern part of the region of Greek Macedonia along with the region of Thrace, and the islands of Thasos and Samothrace. The region is home to Greece’s Muslim minority, which dates to the Ottoman period and unlike the Turkish Muslims and Greek Muslims of Greek MacedoniaEpirus, and elsewhere in northern Greece was exempted from the Greek-Turkish population exchange following the 1922-23 Treaty of Lausanne.


East Macedonia and Thrace was established in the 1987 administrative reform. With the 2010 Kallikratis plan, its powers and authority were redefined and extended. Along with Central Macedonia, it is supervised by the Decentralized Administration of Macedonia and Thrace based at Thessaloniki.

The region is based at Komotini and the largest city is Kavala. It is divided into the Macedonian regional units of DramaKavala and Thasos and the Thracian regional units of XanthiRhodope and Evros.

Before the Kallikratis reform, the regional units (except Thasos, which was part of Kavala) were administered as separate prefectures. Since 1994, they were grouped into the Drama-Kavala-Xanthi and Rhodope-Evros super-prefectures.

The region’s governor is, since 1 January 2011, Aristeidis Giannakidis, who was elected in the November 2010 local administration elections for the Panhellenic Socialist Movement.

Major communities